Disclaimer

Photo

Not indenting paragraphs OK or mortal sin?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 AOSpare

AOSpare

Artist and Mystic Traveler

• Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:I am a writer and publisher of public domain books. I have several books self-published and I am NOT looking for an agent/publisher at this time.

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:34 AM

I am a book designer for printed books. I have spend years perfecting my craft. Many of the issues facing the book designer are
non-existent in eBooks. I also have expertise and years of doing eBooks but I do not see the need for indentation at all.
Indents help the human eye when there is a large page/small fonts but with e Readers as small as a iPhone 5 why bother with indentation? What is your opinion?
I know that the traditional font selection is different for eBooks and printed so why not break some rules? Rebel!
Would like to make your book look book-store quality?
I am a professional book designer using Adobe InDesign.

#2 WayneMeyers

WayneMeyers

Almost There

• Members
  • Pip
  • 125 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, in-between agents
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:54 AM

If you're submitting to an agent or publisher, follow their guidelines, or if not sure, keep with tradition.

The publisher will decide if they want indents or not.

Say hi, I'm always willing to help or share ideas.

Please follow me. Links to Facebook and Twitter are on my blogging/author website, WayneMeyers.com

#3 AOSpare

AOSpare

• Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:I am a writer and publisher of public domain books. I have several books self-published and I am NOT looking for an agent/publisher at this time.

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:54 AM