#1 Simply Me

Simply Me

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS South

Posted 10 May 2013 - 07:13 AM

Hi, everyone, I am new here. Since many of you seem experienced with the writing world, I'd like to ask a question about NyreePress publishing. I notice they offer several publishing packages, ranging in the thousands. I've read over and over again about scammers charging high fees to publish. Does anyone have any information on them? They seem to be legitimate. By them being new to publishing, I am wondering if that is the reason behind the large fee amounts. I'm not sure, though, being that I am just starting out. Any feedback will be helpful for this journey I'm on. Thanks in advance.

#2 Leigh Teale

Leigh Teale

Supergirl Writes Stuff

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts
  • Literary Status:published
  • LocationUS Southeast
  • Publishing Experience:The Calera Journal; Wiregrass Living Magazine; The Subterranean Quarterly; Midnight Starling Press

Posted 10 May 2013 - 08:28 AM

That's a vanity press. A true traditional publisher (even a small or indie press) will NEVER charge you ANYTHING to publish your book.

Their wording is nice, and they make it sound so reasonable and reassuring. Probably some of the best I've seen. They're still a vanity press, though. If you're wanting to see your book in a bookstore, don't go with them. If you don't care if your book sees the fluorescent lighting of Powell's or B&N and are cool with online sales, self-publishing is FAR cheaper and you have complete control.

skull-emoticon-for-facebook-status-comme   THE BUSINESS OF DEATH          Final Destination  x  Dead Like Me          Amazon | B&N | BAM | Powell's

stars-emoticon.png   CHANGELING          Magonia  x  Wings          Amazon | B&N | BAM | Powell's

#3 Darke

Darke

~Official AQC Cookie Provider~

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,489 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, unagented
  • LocationCanada