the Unspoken Word

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Literary Status:published, self-published, unagented
  • LocationCanada
  • Publishing Experience:published

Posted 03 January 2014 - 11:13 PM

I thought I would speak to my profession since paramedicine has been badly distorted by the media and television.  First off, I'm a paramedic and we NEVER leave a patient unattended in the back of the ambulance.  I've seen tv shows where they put someone in the back and then both paramedics go sit in the front... preposterous!!!

We're not ambulance drivers either... we are either EMR/EMTs or Paramedics depending on license level.  Paramedics have a medical license and have to go to college, but in most areas they start as EMR/EMTs.  In places where both partners are the same license, they take turns attending and driving, but some areas only have an EMR/EMT and a Paramedic, so the Paramedic usually attends.

The ambulance is a tool and a mobile hospital bay.  We are trying to make people aware of the distinction between an ambulance and Paramedics... so be kind and mention us by our profession, not the ambulance.

Anyway.  9-1-1 is activated.  A call is received by a call taker at a 911 center and a series of questions are asked in order.  The answers given determine the following questions, like a choose your own adventure.  While the call taker is asking those questions, the call is being assigned to the closest ambulance by a dispatcher.  Many services use a CAD (computer assisted dispach system) where paramedics can see the same info that the dispatcher is getting from the call taker.