6 replies to this topic

#1 Alysa804

Alysa804

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:None yet! But hopefully within a year or two.

Posted 01 February 2014 - 06:14 PM

Hello all! My name is Alysa and I'm new to the writing and publishing biz. It might seem like a silly question but does your literary agent have to live in the same city as you? Originally I thought yes of course, but with today's technology such as video chatting is this still the case? Thank you for you time and help!  :smile:

#2 sharpegirl

sharpegirl

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Literary Status:published, agented
  • LocationUS Northwest
  • Publishing Experience:YA novelist with Hyperion (US) and Indigo (UK).

Posted 01 February 2014 - 06:34 PM

Hi Alyssa,

Welcome to the boards! An agent definitely doesn't have to live where you live. Otherwise most writers would have to be from New York! Everything is done through email/phone/snail mail and even skype nowadays :)

#3 Alysa804

Alysa804

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:None yet! But hopefully within a year or two.

Posted 01 February 2014 - 06:43 PM

Thank you so much! That opens up the field much more :)

#4 Michelle4Laughs

Michelle4Laughs

Walking on Sunshine

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,543 posts
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:BIRTH OF SAINTS trilogy(Harper Voyager): GRUDGING, FAITHFUL (Nov 15, 2016, Book 3 (Nov 2017). KINDAR'S CURE. Short stories in anthologies from EBP. Host of Query Kombat, Nightmare on Query Street, PB Party, Sun versus Snow.

Posted 01 February 2014 - 10:32 PM

I live nowhere near my agent. Neither is she in New York, though her agency is.

25815723.jpg  29242455.jpg  16415686.jpg   18159598.jpg  20957949.jpg   

Blog: It's in the Details
Twitter

#5 JW Roberts

JW Roberts

• Members
  • Pip