AQCrew

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 2,740 posts
  • Literary Status:industry insider
  • LocationPacific Islands

Posted 06 September 2014 - 11:24 AM

*raises hand*

Total Facebook newbie here... so reaching out to you FB veterans for some tips on Facebook engagement manners/ediquette and fan expectations.

So when a reader (ie. "fan")  likes and/or shares your post, are we supposed to respond with " hey, thanks, so and so (insert person's name) for liking my post!  That feels a little bit overdone so we haven't been doing it.  It's kinda like choosing not to thank everybody who retweet our tweets.  We see people doing it and people thank us sometimes for retweeting their stuff, but we never feel like it's actually necessary.

But on Facebook, are we missing out on some sort of coveted opportunity for personal engagement with our fans?

Also.. and perhaps more importantly, when some comes along and comments... "just one-clicked" regarding purchasing the book, if we respond to their comment, do they get a notification that we responded to their comment?  

Seriously feeling like our hair is combed over the wrong way and pasted with too much gel at the prom, waiting on the sidelines for somebody to say -- "Hey, what are you doing here?  You're supposed to be out there --> on the dance floor, shaking it like a fool!"

#2 Darke

Darke

~Official AQC Cookie Provider~

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,489 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, unagented
  • LocationCanada
  • Publishing Experience:I have several short stories published with online magazines such as Bewildering Stories and Aphelion, and part of the 7DS anthology SLAYERS. I have six books in a paranormal series self-published, and as of 2015, I write articles for Gaiam TV. See my blog for more details.

Posted 06 September 2014 - 01:17 PM