spineofiron

Probably Drinking Coffee

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest

Posted 15 October 2014 - 03:58 PM

Long story short, I have two short stories self-published on Amazon Kindle. I'm currently a university student, and last semester I was in a short story class that had a publishing requirement attached to each story, which meant you either had to submit or self-publish them. I wasn't smart enough to publish under a pen name, so now when you search my name on Google, these stories pop up.

They're not bad, per se, but they definitely aren't my best work, and they don't have a lot of sales because I didn't really promote them, since they're just class assignments. Possibly worse, a friend of mine who's a Goodreads librarian added them to the Goodreads library, so they're pretty much in there forever now. They got tied to my Goodreads account too, so technically I'm a "Goodreads author" -- which is a stretch.

I'm worried that an agent might possibly snoop around and find these stories, see they're small-time, and not bother with me because of them. (This is possibly paranoia.) The only thing I can think to do is try and change them to sit under a pen name and somehow get Goodreads all figured out. I just really don't want them under my name anymore. Is it possible these short stories are dragging me down? Any advice? Does changing the author name to a pen name sound like a plausible solution?

"I am a fire escape. My spine is made of iron, my heart pumps out old red paint."

-- Foster the People

#2 AQCrew

AQCrew

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 2,740 posts
  • Literary Status:industry insider
  • LocationPacific Islands

Posted 15 October 2014 - 05:37 PM