#1 margaret fisher

margaret fisher

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Southeast

Posted 06 March 2011 - 08:03 PM

Hey all, I'm already cringing, but this is my first attempt at a query letter for the book I've just finished polishing. I haven't queried any agents or publishers for it yet, since I want to do my best to make a decent query before I take the plunge.Obviously my biggest problem is whittling down the length while still expressing enough of the plot to (hopefully) interest an agent into reading the book. Any feedback or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Dear firstname lastname,

Vampires are real.

That was the shocking truth humanity discovered the eve of the event they would later name Blood Dawn; a series of attacks that left the leaders of every country with advanced technology dead, or converted.

Years later Detective William Buchanan is confronted with an unpleasant revelation of his own. The other members of his night squad- a secret team of police officers trained to track down and kill vampires-have been loaned out to another city, and he’s been left in charge of a new batch of recruits. Although dubious about the rag-tag bunch, the presence of a hacker among them presents him with an opportunity to continue his investigation into Genesis Industries- a secretive corporation that promised the world after Blood Dawn that they would solve the vampire problem.