Disclaimer

Photo

I am a foreign author, what kind of agents do I need to look for?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Chrisothemis P.K.

Chrisothemis P.K.

Chrisothemis P.K.

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, published, unagented
  • LocationEurope
  • Publishing Experience:I’ve already published a middle grade novel with a publisher in Greece. The book was nominated for the award of best children’s literary book in Greece.

Posted 25 May 2016 - 10:32 AM

Hallo my friends!

I’m new here and I have seen your friendly response to each one of us, so I decided to ask you something regarding a matter I don’t know what to do about.  My name is Chrisothemis and I am a Greek author.  I’ve already published a middle grade novel with a publisher here in Greece. The book was nominated for the award of best children’s literary book in Greece. A while ago I decided I wanted to publish it abroad, so I translated it with an editor’s help and began looking for agents.
Most agents replied telling me that they usually talk with publishers and foreign rights agents for this, but in Greece translating books and selling them abroad is not something that is done regularly or often, only the opposite, foreign books are simply translated into Greek. That means that I have no help from my publisher.  So, my question for you is...what can I do?
I’m writing a YA novel at the moment which I want to publish abroad, but as good as I am in English I’ll always need a translator’s/editor’s help because I’m not a native speaker. What kind of agents do I need to look for? Agents who represent foreign authors? How does this system work?

I've attached the description of my book "Wishie & Wee" in case you are interested! 

Thank you!
Chrisothemis Kirimi
www.chrisothemis.com

#2 dogsbody

dogsbody

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts
  • Literary Status:published
  • LocationUS Southeast

Posted 25 May 2016 - 10:07 PM