Burnt Coffee Bean

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 389 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:Self-Published

Posted 12 October 2016 - 06:09 PM

I'm halfway through the third revision of a steampunk/pirate/romance I've been working on for about two years. It's still untitled. I had a burst of creativity yesterday while finishing up a chapter. 

One theme in the book is how the main character evolved from her pampered lifestyle to being able to do things on her own, taking charge, and going outside of the "uppity" women's world of clothing and such. In the book there's a saying that women like that are "peacocks" because they're all looks and no mind. 

But I am terrible at titles. They usually fall out of the sky an smack me in the head, but this one's eluding. 

I've played with some words, like "Mech Peacock," or "The Peacock and the Mechanic," "Pirates and Peacocks," "Bronze Birds," "Metallic Peacock," "Not Just a Peacock," but none of them feel right. 

Thoughts?

#2 mwsinclair

mwsinclair

Elephant with a trunk full of novels

• Group Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,583 posts
  • Literary Status:published, unagented, media
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:Journalist covering U.S. nonprofits, foundations, and life in general. President and Chief Elephant Officer of Elephant's Bookshelf Press, LLC. Since establishing the company in 2012, we have published ten books, including short stories by several AQC writers and debut novels by AQC authors A.T. O'Connor (aka Cat Woods), "ScubaSteve" Carman, and R.S. Mellette. Heading into 2016, we're aiming to publish at least two books, including the second Mellette novel and an anthology. In 2015, I saw a few memoir/nonfiction pieces published in Red Fez. I expect to do more of that in 2016 and beyond, while also looking to add freelance editing and writing clients.

Posted 14 October 2016 - 07:16 AM