• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 389 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:Self-Published

Posted 29 December 2016 - 12:29 AM

Phineas' or Phineas's?

I've seen possessive nouns that end in S both ways. I've never used a name that ended is S before, and I've not come across the problem. Now I have. The internet is giving me conflicting advice. One sight says the first is correct, another site says both - which way, Grammar Gurus, is correct? Does it matter? Is consistency more important? 

#2 Jeanne

Jeanne

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, published
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:My debut novel, BLOOD OF A STONE (Tuscany Press), was released in March 2015 and received an Independent Publishing Book Award (Bronze) in the national category of religious fiction. My short stories and creative nonfiction have been published Hippocampus, Literary Mama, Museum of Americana, Red Savina Review, Hermeneutic Chaos Literary Journal, and Barrelhouse, among many others.

Posted 29 December 2016 - 11:05 AM

If the words are ancient Greek or Latin names, they end in S'. If the words are more modern, you can use either S's or S', but the preferred choice is S's. And yes, consistency is important.

Jeanne

#3 mwsinclair

mwsinclair

Elephant with a trunk full of novels

• Group Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,603 posts
  • Literary Status:published, unagented, media
  • LocationUS Northeast