6 replies to this topic

#1 Snowy

Snowy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:None. This is my first time with any and all of this so I'm learning right now.

Posted 19 January 2017 - 09:07 PM

The title I've been working with for my book has been 'Ignite' for a while now. However it feels super bland even to me and it's also the English translation of the name of my MC's brother which is just awkward

I've played with other titles and haven't found many I liked. A few I keep coming back to are: 

• 'The Ignited'
  • 'Phoenix Rising'
  • 'The Annealing' 

Any thoughts about what would be most attention grabbing to a passing reader?

#2 Testome

Testome

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 19 January 2017 - 10:57 PM

The one I prefer is Phoenix Rising though it feels overused and cliche. So I would go with the Annealing(though this sounds a bit awkward). I dislike the first choice entirely.

#3 Snowy

Snowy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:None. This is my first time with any and all of this so I'm learning right now.

Posted 25 January 2017 - 02:56 PM

How does From the Ashes  sound?? I'm still trying to name my book something fitting to the story and interesting. 

#4 dragoness

dragoness

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationEurope

Posted 02 February 2017 - 01:30 AM

I liked the simple "Ignite" the best.

#5 EllieFirestone1

EllieFirestone1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, unagented
  • LocationUS South

Posted 02 February 2017 - 10:37 AM

Out of those three, I like "The Ignited" the best. "Phoenix Rising" is too cliche, and most readers probably don't know what "Annealing" means.