• Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest

Posted 03 February 2017 - 09:40 PM

New Draft in Post #5

Hello there everyone,

This is a synopsis for my current MS. I'm new to synopsis writing (and definitely still learning), so I'd appreciate any critiques you care to offer.  I'm happy to return the favor (on a synopsis or anything) if you nudge me in the right direction.  :smile:

Seventeen-year-old LORI has one mission in life: to hunt the sorcerers that threaten to destroy her world. They routinely plant bombs that explode with dire magical consequences, unleashing localized floods or pocket firestorms. Lori is blessed with a rare mutation that allows her to feel magic as pain, and she can sense the presence of sorcerers and their bombs before they explode. She is training to join the Sentinels, the elite law enforcement agency responsible for safe-guarding the public from magical threats.

While Lori is meeting her brother, GRANT, sorcerers attack and kidnap him. Though Lori tries to save him, she is overpowered. She attempts to persuade first the Sentinels and her mother to rescue Grant, but both requests are denied.

Lori decides to go after Grant on her own. She sets out into the Zone, an uninhabited region in the middle of the country teeming with magic. She falls into a trap set by a mutant spider moments across the border, and escapes with the help of RYLAN, a traveler her age who was nearly captured as well.

Though Lori is suspicious of Rylan, as they face the horrors of the Zone she comes to rely on him and develops romantic feelings for him. These feelings are betrayed when Lori finds Grant and discovers that Rylan is not only one of the kidnappers, but a sorcerer as well.