6 replies to this topic

#1 AdrianGC

AdrianGC

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Literary Status:published, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'be had a few short stories published in Uncharted Frontier Ezine. Prior to working as a stand up, I was a staff writer for a daily newspaper in New Jersey.

Posted 13 February 2017 - 04:56 PM

Hey all. I'm a newbie here at AQC -- just signed up today.

I'm looking for feedback on my query letter. This is my first stab at it -- so I am ready to take my lumps! Thanks in advance. (Although should I be "thanking" people about to shred me?...)   

Regards,

Adrian 

Ask anyone alive and they’ll tell you about a time when the sky was blue, not green. Not only that, but the air actually sustained life, if you can believe it! And not just human life, either. There used to be these weird things called “animals.”

James Jenkins remembers.

And he ought to, because he put these world-destroying wheels in motion.

James had it all: beautiful wife, beach-front house, two charming children, and loads of money. Total cliché. Yes, as the head spokesman for the American Institute for Petroleum Research, Big Oil had certainly been good to him. 

Until, that is, a fateful summer day when a benevolent race of aliens, known as the Grays, informed mankind that our addiction to fossil fuels was killing everything at an accelerated pace. The planet Earth, they warned us, would only be habitable for another 15 years if we did not take drastic action to eliminate our dependence on fossil fuels and prevent more carbon dioxide from entering the atmosphere. The Grays said we could continue killing ourselves if we wished, but they would not allow us to eradicate all life from the planet. So, effective immediately, they are relocating all non-human lifeforms to Mars.