Disclaimer

Photo

Pitch Madness pitch for The Dreamon (YA fantasy)

Young Adult Fantasy

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 EllieFirestone1

EllieFirestone1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, unagented
  • LocationUS South

Posted 18 February 2017 - 02:19 PM

This is a hook I made from basically condensing my query letter. I'd love any critiques you guys can give me!

Specific question: should I replace "Dreamon" with "Dream Demon" to make it clear what a Dreamon actually is?

Trapped in a nightmare, fifteen-year-old Lucy Nightingale must face warped laws of physics, random explode-y things, and possible death in order to defeat her Dreamon. Otherwise, she'll never wake up again.

#2 SRPasternack

SRPasternack

• Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Northwest

Posted 19 February 2017 - 02:58 AM

Hmmmm so I'm pretty new at this Pitch Madness thing, but I'm pretty good with loglines, and they're pretty similar right? That's what I hear, anyway.

The new guidelines for Pitch Madness say 35 words max, and yours right now is 31 if you count hyphenated words as one, or 34 if you count hyphenated words as separate. Either way, you're golden there!

I like to make sure the following criteria are present for my loglines: an interesting character with a passion, an incident that affects the character, a risky/difficult goal for the character, something/someone in the way of that goal, and a risk of disaster expressed in terms of the previously stated passion.

So looking at what you've got here...

Trapped in a nightmare, fifteen-year-old Lucy Nightingale must face warped laws of physics, random explode-y things, and possible death in order to defeat her Dreamon. Otherwise, she'll never wake up again.