#1 Cez

Cez

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationAfrica
  • Publishing Experience:Queried and querying.

Posted 21 February 2017 - 04:00 AM

This is my first try at writing a pitch. I'd appreciate some help.

In an empire where women are forbidden to rule, sixteen-year-old Olesya defies the law by entering a tournament that will decide the future tsar, only to fall in love with her biggest rival.

#2 Nonicks

Nonicks

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationEurope

Posted 21 February 2017 - 05:19 AM

Yep, it works for me. I think it could be even better if you tell us who her biggest rival is, but if you've reached the word limit, it's fine the way it is now. 

#3 SRPasternack

SRPasternack

• Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Northwest

Posted 21 February 2017 - 12:38 PM

In an empire where women are forbidden to rule, sixteen-year-old Olesya defies the law by entering a tournament that will decide the future tsar, only to fall in love with her biggest rival.

I like to set up my loglines with the following critera: an interesting character with a passion, an incident that affects the character, a risky/difficult goal for the character, something/someone in the way of that goal, and a risk of disaster expressed in terms of the previously stated passion.

Interesting character: Olesya, who is interesting because she's bucking tradition and defying laws. You go girl!

Incident: Hmmm the tournament? But what prompts her to enter the tournament is probably the "incident."

Risk/difficult goal: Winning a tournament against the odds.

Something/someone in the way: Her rival, but specifically, falling in love with her rival.