Disclaimer

Photo

`RECODED <250 Various Excerpts for Editing Feedback And Advice (Adult Social-Scifi)

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 ryankalford

ryankalford

• Members
  • Pip
  • 181 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest

Posted 02 March 2017 - 08:25 PM

Okay, so after all the great wonderful feedback/advice I've gotten collectively from my query and 1st 250 excerpts, I thought it'd be a great idea if I made a dedicated thread here for more bits and pieces of things I feel like I'm having trouble with from either a lack of skill, or inexperience. In other words . . . I need some help!

So, to make a long story short, I've been working on RECODED for about 8 1/2 years now. Thought I'd finished it and got it readied up as best could be by Spring 2015 (well, best as in only having one other person beta read and edit the MS besides me because everyone else I asked wound up being a no-show disaster). Submitted to about 3 contest, and then got a request from a new agent at the time through #PitMad in that June. Submitted first 50 pages to her, and eventually got this rejection/resubmit invitation:

"I suggest further work in character development, in a clearer, larger sense of place, deeper interiority (more complex inner life of the characters), and more unique and specific details, especially when it comes to a character's physical details. There may be structural issues as well but working with an editor should help identify those areas. Once you have completed a major revision, please feel free to resubmit for reconsideration."