#1 sward

sward

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Southeast

Posted 20 March 2017 - 10:20 AM

Hey everyone came across this searching about self publishing. Been writing all my life but just finished a children's picture book where I hired a professional artist for the illustrations and now I am ready to publish. I sent it off to a couple of publishers and had planned to send to more but I honestly don't have time to constantly keep up with all the hassles of finding the right fit. ( I am a farmer by trade, along with many other hats I wear)

I am considering self publishing. Looked at a few some with good ratings some not so much, also looking at Amazon.  It all seems so confusing I don't mind putting some money upfront so someone else handles the process, but I am not rich by any means so want to make a wise choice.

Anyone have a good experience with self publishing?  I'm not under the illusion that I'll make millions although I do think my book has a good message and could do well, I would be happy to get it published and make my money back.

I would appreciate any advise you all are willing to dish out!  (posting links to other places in this forum that answers some of these questions would be helpful also.

Thanks

#2 Sassalota

Sassalota

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:Self Published Novel, Ruby in the Water under the pen name J.P. Sterling.

Posted 20 March 2017 - 11:09 AM

Hi Sward - Welcome to the site. You will see there are forums specifically for self-publishers so you might want to look through some of the old posts to see past conversation too, and also post this same question there. You might get more responses.