Erevos

• Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationEurope

Posted 23 March 2017 - 10:52 AM

Hello everyone!

This is my first attempt at writing a query. Thank you in advance for all the reviews! I will help as much as I can, but be warned to take my advice with a pinch of salt.

The title will definitely change, since I'm not confident about it.

Dear Agent,

There is no place for a simple boy in a guild of men blessed with magic.

Words fifteen-year-old Will half expected to hear on his first day of training. Growing up inside the Guild of Eliria, however, it has always been Will’s dream to join an adventuring group.

Despite his many doubts, Will quickly befriends five other students. While he and his friends make great efforts to hone their skills for the upcoming Guild Trials, a contest meant to put every group to the test, a letter arrives at the guild. A quirky scholar claims to have found clues about Will’s past, clues that relate him to forbidden magic and a king long-thought dead. His findings, however, not only beget more questions, but they rouse a group of scheming men back to action. (Not sure if I should mention their goal here.)

Tormented by his poor performance, and with the last trial at hand, Will suddenly hears the horns call to battle. Hired swords storm over the walls of the guild, and chaos ensues. Now Will has to raise his sword and stand boldly alongside the others to protect the things he love, and make one step closer to discover a past he knew naught about. 

I am currently seeking representation for my high fantasy novel, The Guild of Eliria, a stand-alone with series potential, complete at about 99,500 words. Given your interest in fantasy, I thought it might be a good fit for your list.

Thank you for your time and your consideration. I have included the first ten pages and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,