#1 jscottboyd

jscottboyd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest

Posted 06 April 2017 - 10:29 AM

I'm a brand new poster, but have been reading for a bit. I've read some great feedback and love watching people's queries progress. I'm a rookie when it comes to these, but I will absolutely offer my input to others now that I am a member. I would love any feedback you all might have...

I don't love the last sentence of the summary. The intention was to show that it's not all action all the time. I'd also be curious what you think about the bio. I have nothing writing related to put here, but there is enough psychology/therapy in the book I felt what I did list was relevant. 

Dear [Agent],

A hidden file leads 15-year-old, Dante Larson on a desperate search for his missing father that thrusts him into a dangerous world where stolen drugs, racial violence, hidden treasure and first love are all part of growing up.

Dante’s father, who didn’t return home from work two years ago, was a psychotherapist at the county jail and the hidden file Dante finds belongs to Alex Finn, a now deceased, skinhead who was awaiting trial for the murder of a local Black high school basketball star. When Dante and his best friend Jonny (son to the local drug dealer) piece together clues from the file in an attempt to find out what happened to Dante's father, they are initially led to the Black Forest Inn, rumored at one time to have been a secret Nazi hideout where Alex claimed he found millions in gold.

No one wants to find the hidden gold more than Jason Krufelt, a six and a half foot White supremacist sociopath, and when he finds out Dante and Jonny may know where it’s hidden, all hell breaks loose. Dante and Jonny try to stay one step ahead of Zufelt while still enjoying Slurpees, the occasional MDMA trip and the company of the beautiful and rich Cal Ashby and the hilarious, perennially stoned Kelly Stokes.