#1 Rachel Elaine

Rachel Elaine

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 10 June 2011 - 09:06 PM

Hi, all! This is my first attempt at a query letter and I have a few potentially necessary alterations already in mind, but I figured I'd post what I have and see where it gets me.

There’s nothing like facing manipulation at the hands of a boy you were only dating to shut up a frenemy, but that’s exactly where Olivia Spencer accidentally ends up.

Spurred by an innocuous question that she over thinks, second semester high school senior Olivia allows herself to fall for the guarded and complicated Mike Clemens. Stumbling through her first relationship since freshman year, she suddenly finds herself overwhelmed and under supported, especially after her bff runs off with the party girl of the twelfth grade. Before she knows it, Olivia, the academic viola player with Ivy League ambitions, finds herself with a positive pregnancy test and nowhere left to go.

NEXT TO NOTHING, a realist/feminist Young Adult novel, is complete at 50,000 words. It is my third novel-length piece and is inspired largely by my own adolescence as well as my research in the field of YA lit and its influence on young women.

I have a few questions I'll throw out there about the content once I get an idea of how bad I suck and how generic I sound :tongue:

#2 Sharon Bayliss

Sharon Bayliss

• Members
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS South
  • Publishing Experience:I have been published in small press magazines such as Nerve Cowboy.

Posted 11 June 2011 - 01:03 AM

There’s nothing like facing manipulation at the hands of a boy you were only dating to shut up a frenemy, but that’s exactly where Olivia Spencer accidentally ends up. [In my opinion, the hook needs more detail. What kind of manipulation?]