Lace, pearls and petticoats

• Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationAustralia/New Zealand

Posted 18 May 2017 - 01:34 AM

Hi everyone,

My name is Brittany and I'm a 28 year-old writer dabbling in historical YA fiction.

I've been writing as long as I can remember, but never have I really had an idea that has inspired me as much as my current WIP.

It's with this idea, and the evolution of it over the past year or so, that I have finally decided to take the plunge and work on a 'proper' manuscript.

I am incredibly eager to connect with fellow historical writers (especially those writing for a Young Adult audience) for critiquing, beta reading and general chit-chat and research queries. As I'm often suffering from severe writer's block, it would be great to have someone to chat to who is going through the same process.

My current WIP is set in the Edwardian era, in Yorkshire and includes some fantasy elements. I visited Yorkshire in October last year, which was fantastic (I live in Australia!) and made me more determined than ever to get the story down on paper!

I hope to hear from some of you!

Budding writer of historical YA fiction...

#2 Isabel Lauren

Isabel Lauren

New Kid on da Block

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Midwest
  • Publishing Experience:Not a published author.

Posted 18 May 2017 - 10:34 AM

Hi Brittany!

I'm new here, too, and I'm also interested in historical YA.

I'd love to know if there's a specific reason why you chose the era and setting that you did--have you always been interested in the Edwardian era? Did you decide to write about Yorkshire before you visited, or was the setting determined after?

I'm just very excited to meet someone that's also interested in writing historical YA!

#3 Brittany Astor

Brittany Astor

• Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts

Posted 18 May 2017 - 10:38 AM

Hi, Isabel!!!