#1 Jatsuki

Jatsuki

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS West Coast

Posted 18 May 2017 - 11:18 AM

Hello! This is my first time looking for an agent. I've read a lot of advice on what makes a good query, but I feel a good deal of it is contradictory depending on whose opinion it comes from. So this is my attempt....

Dear (Agent name)

I am seeking representation for Starlight, an 88,000 word young adult fantasy that will appeal to fans of Julie Kagawa and Sarah J. Maas. I am submitting to you because of your interest in (____).

Sixteen-year-old Sera thought she was unremarkable. She is just another high school student in the countryside of Virginia, trudging through each day set to the beat of her mother’s strict schedule. But when a recklessly handsome assassin tries to carve out her heart, she realizes she is anything but ordinary.

Leaving her mundane existence behind and her safety even further, Sera is forced through the roots of Yggdrasil, the twisted tree of Norse legend that connects her world to another. One where creatures of myth thrive and barbarian mysticism is both alluring and violent.

Fallen into a festering empire, Sera and her off-limits guardian Callen, are captured by the Regent’s elite guard. In the confines of the Feyrik Palace, Sera discovers the father she never knew drives a rebellion against the Regent. Caught as a pawn between two warring sides, Sera faces an uncertain fate and a perilous decision. Pledge loyalty to the Regent, a man whose lecherous regard threatens to make her blood flow backward, or spend the rest of her life in the soiled prison below the Palace.

All the while, whispers of death and a terrible power follow her like a cursed shadow. A power that divided her family and ripped the kingdom apart. One she may still hold inside.  

Thank you for your time and consideration.

#2 Testome

Testome

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationUS Northeast