No replies to this topic

#1 ebillblack1

ebillblack1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:I have minimal experience. I have a manuscript I'd like to move forward with plans to write additional books. I have published one website article and one magazine article. I have a modest social media presence and website for blogging, etc.

Posted 18 May 2017 - 08:51 PM

Hi all!

I have a couple of questions which I'm certain you will have a great answers to, nevertheless I hope I'm not imposing (too much). I don't mind the part about embarrassing myself because I'm new at this.

I have written a memoir. Of course I am the only one who has ever done such a thing!  I am looking for advice on how to find someone to edit using the shoestring budget I have. I just have a disability income but am willing to barter or trade off services, etc. (I have some IT and minimal social media skills.)

I have written the memoir in MS Word 2013. It is about 35,000 words and 115 pages. I have it available in Google Docs and even a file that can be used for kindle on iphone (.azk). I have a KDP account all set up. I plan on releasing the Kindle eBook and a paperback print on demand. I even have a prototype web site, facebook page and twitter account, etc.

I'm sure it's been a while since most of you have been through these embryonic stages but I would sure appreciate some candid advice. In a nutshell, this first in a series memoir, recollects my life as a compulsive gambler with multiple addictions and mental health issues (co-occurring disorders). My plan is to encourage and promote hope and recovery to other vets/non-vets suffering from addiction and mental health issues as well.