kibou

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationAsia

Posted 09 June 2017 - 03:38 AM

Hi, i am kibou.

These couple weeks i have been wandering around this forum and see a lot of users interact each other. :D

I am new to writing and i am always bad at literature (words and stuff), but since i read a lot of manga *cough*, i have idea to write my own light novel. If you are wondering what is Light Novel, you can check in here

https://en.wikipedia...iki/Light_novel

i don't know how community react to Japanese stuff in here, but i hope you guys are welcoming.

I try to read a couple tips and trick to create your own novel, but i think, right now with my literature skill, it will failed so hard.

so i think, instead of creating big novel, as starter, i will create a couple chapter of the novel.

Type of chapter i want to create is something like this (you can read the rest of novel in there)

I have idea to create this comedy novel about 3 troopers that doing crazy stuff to fight aliens, and i have build like 30% of the world.

what i want to ask is :

1. Do you build the world first, then characters ? or vice-versa ?

2. i read some quote about comedy story

"Don't make incapable villain (except you making comedy story)"

Can you explain what is incapable villain looks like ?

3. What should i do to improve my literature skill/knowledge ?

I hope you guys will reply to this newbie thread :D

#2 Michael Steven

Michael Steven

Venture far from the Beaten Path

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,299 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging
  • LocationUS Northwest
  • Publishing Experience:Not Published ... yet!

Posted 09 June 2017 - 12:43 PM

There is no one, best way to develop your characters or world.  You can do one or the other first, or you can do both at the same time.  The key is for you to maintain consistency.