Find me at properediting.com

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Literary Status:published
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 15 July 2017 - 12:08 PM

Hi everyone,

I have been writing for some time (20 years-ish) and have multiple manuscripts that I consider to be ready, or nearly ready, to begin querying. In fact, there are 5 completed manuscripts that I have polished to the point that they are potentially ready to begin the querying process. I do not think specifically that any of the 5 has any more advantage to get accepted over the others, they seem like equals in this regard. So now I have several questions.

Question # 1:

Before I ever found this place I sent off six queries to the first of the books on my list (and I'm in my fourth week of waiting now...) 

I know it's not a good idea to potentially query all of them at the same time, or even two, as it could become complex, etc. However, let's say the first book gets no positive response. Let's then say that I decide I'd rather query the second one. Would it be bad to query the 6 agents I already queried with book 1, with book 2 (assuming they could potentially be a good fit), or should I find different agents?

Yes, that's a bad idea. Find other agents or wait to see what happens with the first book. You can query the same agents with the second book if they reject the first, AFTER a decent waiting period, like six months.

Question # 2:

Does it really take a year to publish a book, assuming they've been accepted for representation, etc., or longer? 5 years is going to kill me..., and by the time those 5 are potentially through the process I'll have potentially 20 others ready to start the process. They're getting nearly ready now. If I ever get all of my stories written it will be something like 80 stories. And new ones surface all the time. Is there ANY WAY I could, if they were worthy (of course), ever get 80 manuscripts published in a lifetime?