Disclaimer

Photo

journal/magazine/contest venues for fantasy short stories?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hermitage

hermitage

• Members
  • Pip
  • 146 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm a PhD economist with six articles published in peer-reviewed journals on the subjects of economics and voting theory.

Posted 29 August 2017 - 08:13 PM

Hello! 

I've written an adult fantasy novel which is still unpublished. I'd like to explore reputable venues for publishing an excerpt from the novel, adapted into the form of a self-contained short story. By reputable I just mean that it's not a scam or a vanity publisher, there's a selective vetting process, and at least a few people will read it if it gets in. 

Monetary compensation is not important, but perhaps needless to say, it's important that I would retain the rights to the material so that I can still include it in the novel which I hope will eventually be published. 

The length of the adapted short story would be in the neighborhood of 10,000 - 13,000 words.

To give a sense of the sub-genre: It takes place on a world that isn't Earth, which is ruled by warring magic-wielders. The world has some futuristic technology, but the world still feels contemporary to ours in many ways, and the technology is more a part of the setting than a determinative part of the plot.  

Does anyone have suggestions? I'd be grateful!

James 

#2 hermitage

hermitage

• Members
  • Pip
  • 146 posts
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm a PhD economist with six articles published in peer-reviewed journals on the subjects of economics and voting theory.

Posted 14 September 2017 - 09:35 AM

No takers for this one? Hopefully I'm posting in the right category. I don't know the first thing about venues for short stories, so even some very basic information could be helpful.