Disclaimer

Photo

how much feedback to expect with rejection after full request?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 hermitage

hermitage

• Members
  • Pip
  • 146 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm a PhD economist with six articles published in peer-reviewed journals on the subjects of economics and voting theory.

Posted 14 September 2017 - 01:31 PM

I queried an agent, got a request for the full manuscript, sent it in, waited for a while, and then eventually received what looks like a form-letter rejection. 

Is an impersonal, form-letter rejection the norm in this situation? Or do agents usually give feedback on the manuscript after requesting it in full? 

If it is the norm, do you think it's rude to gently ask how the manuscript might be improved? I'm fine with the manuscript being rejected, but I was hoping that I might at least get some helpful advice as part of the process. 

Thanks!

James

#2 Constantine Singer

Constantine Singer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 110 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:My debut YA Novel, NeverWhen, will be in bookstores everywhere in 2018. I was discovered in the slush-pile and I got my querying start right here.

Posted 14 September 2017 - 03:42 PM

Most often, what you'll get on fulls is a polite, vague, rejection which is of little use.  Oftentimes even with fulls, agents stop reading at the point they are convinced that they cannot sell the book, so they don't put much thought into how to make it better.

If you get a really detailed editorial comment (e.g. "While I really enjoyed character X, the lack of stakes in the relationship with your main meant that the story didn't have the propulsion it needed to carry me through") it will generally be combined with a comment about revising and resubmitting (called an R&R).