Soreen Laythyn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm not a published author

Posted 15 September 2017 - 12:48 AM

Ridiculed and bullied by his ability to interact with the dead, seventeen-year-old Wrench Gale must use his ability to track down his missing parents while helping the Reapers, half dead half living superhumans, avoid the destruction of New York. 

#2 heatherpeterson

heatherpeterson

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northwest
  • Publishing Experience:None. Sorry Newbie here, but looking forward to each new experience life has to offer a writer.

Posted 15 September 2017 - 01:52 AM

The last half of the sentence gets a little confusing.... Where are his parents? What happened to them? Who are the Reapers, besides half-dead half-living superhumans? What's happening to New York and why does Wrench care?  This sentence feels like it should be several sentences and not a single sentence. 

#3 Soreen Laythyn

Soreen Laythyn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm not a published author

Posted 20 September 2017 - 01:14 PM

So should I make the hook more than one sentence?

#4 Niambi

Niambi

Malaika: Fallen

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:Journalism

Posted 20 September 2017 - 10:52 PM

So should I make the hook more than one sentence?

Never.  Few stories lend themselves to intriguing hooks which are more than a sentence long.  The previous post may have gotten hooks confused with queries.  That being said, you're off to a good start.  I'd actually take out some descriptors and plot elements to make it tighter, then rearrange some of the important information for clarity