Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 03 November 2017 - 09:58 PM

I'm trying to figure out how police departments would handle a situation---

Event: a family is poisoned and dies, save one adult daughter, who is missing. It's unclear whether it's accidental, but the missing person makes it suspect. Fast forward seven years, the missing daughter is recognized in a different state, but she denies being that person. What would the police in the original jurisdiction do? Issue a warrant?  Material witness? Request her to appear?  What would the timeline for that kind of thing be?

#2 giffordmac

giffordmac

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 04 November 2017 - 01:29 PM

I'm not an expert, but I read police procedurals voraciously. It's my impression that, without any evidence, all they could do would be either contact the local PD and have her interviewed by them, or go to interview her themselves. If there's any evidence at all, they might be able to get a warrant for fingerprints & match them up if her fingerprints are on file or were found at the crime scene.

Have you asked your local PD about this? From what I've heard, they're usually pretty amenable to answering questions.

“We must always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.” ― Elie Wiesel

~~~

#3 Springfield

Springfield

Find me at properediting.com

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 753 posts
  • Literary Status:published
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 06 November 2017 - 11:09 AM

I'm trying to figure out how police departments would handle a situation---