Sojourner

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Literary Status:published, unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Technical articles in Time, WSJ, Money Magazine

Posted 28 November 2017 - 03:44 PM

Hi All from the Newest Guppy (Just joined yesterday).

I would appreciate your help on the Hook for my completed MS: The Lexus Hotel: Mid-Life Crisis, Menopause and Car Camping (Not Necessarily in That Order). This is my first attempt at a Query. I realize that it is somewhat unconventional, but that is by design as the Genre doesn't really fit the fiction or non-fiction template. It is a travel memoir/adventure/true story, 83,341 words. Thanks in advance for your comments.

-- Sojourner --

“Sojourn: journey of the soul. Respite: to spite again. Lexus Hotel: car camping extraordinaire. Father Chris says the body is a glove and the soul is the hand inside the glove. My hand is damaged. What better time to go on a Sojourn, seeking respite, in my Lexus Hotel.”

“Respite:   to spite again; to re-offend, to compound the damage from one wrong with yet another wrong. Wait…wait. That’s what it should mean, but instead we use it to describe a rest, a pause from the act that is exhausting us, a chance to recover, time to catch our breath so that we can carry on. Time to work on getting better – that’s what I told my husband as I hugged him with my one arm and then drove away.”   (Excerpts from Chapter One)