#1 sereneew

sereneew

• Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS West Coast

Posted 22 December 2017 - 11:42 PM

HI There!  I would really appreciate any help with my hook... I'm new to the whole query thing so bare with me, since I will make many mistakes! 

Thank you in advance (: 

Hook:

It's a crime to have superpowers in New York City since the streets were filled with Black Death--- only feeds on the soul of powerful people--- and his men. The superheroes were extinct--- until one night a girl discovers her superpowers. 

You can find the query to this on: http://agentqueryconnect.com/index.php?/topic/38246-burning-souls-ya-fantasy/

If I helped please leave a feedback on my YA FANTASY QUERY http://agentquerycon...st-50/?p=350935

#2 pigeononthemoon

pigeononthemoon

• Members
  • Pip
  • 66 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationAsia

Posted 10 January 2018 - 07:22 AM

It's a crime to have superpowers in New York City since the streets were filled with Black Death--- only feeds on the soul of powerful people--- and his men. The superheroes were extinct--- until one night a girl discovers her superpowers. 

Skip the confusing dashes and the teeny info dump they hold ("only feeds on the..."). Not important (for the sake of a quick pitch) that it's a crime. I suggest starting with the Black Death (is it a person? can you clarify concisely?), something like: "The Black Death extinguished [don't actually use this verb lol] all the superheroes in New York City. Until one night a girl discovers HER SPECIFIC SUPERPOWER." Be concise but detailed, and give some more details to intrigue us. What superpower does she have? If it's more than one, pick the most prominent/interesting one. 

Also what are the girls' stakes? Tell us about the danger she's now about to face.

Good luck!

#3 sereneew

sereneew

• Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • LocationUS West Coast

Posted 10 January 2018 - 09:32 PM