VSChapman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 123 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Southeast
  • Publishing Experience:none

Posted 05 February 2018 - 08:49 PM

So, this is my first attempt at a synopsis. Feel free to chop away! I promise I will return the favor- but it may take me a few days. Thanks!

Ten years ago, unknown ‘Others’ attacked Earth without warning. After three days of war, they left behind a devastated and broken world as they vanished once again into the skies. Questions loomed of who they really were, where they came from and if they’d ever be back. 

Now, PIPER SULLIVAN, a naïve but hardworking girl, lives with her little brother and father in a small town in Georgia. She spends her days hunting, farming and scavenging to help rebuild her town and get life back to the way it once was. She spends her weekends either with her friends at the lake or taking her dad’s old plane to The Market to trade goods.

On the morning of Piper’s seventeenth birthday, the military shows up unannounced at her school and drafts everyone seventeen and older. Piper and her friends are called to serve in what’s left of the military, despite resistance from the town.

Piper worries about leaving her family behind as her father’s health seems to be rapidly declining, but she pushes her feelings aside in hopes to make enough money from the military to send some home.

Once in basic training, Piper meets several instructors. TARGEN, one of her main instructors, is hostile and threatening. But she falls rapidly for JAKE, another instructor. Then, she hears about the Resistance, an underground group whose members claim the government is controlling its citizens.

Piper and her friends prepare to fight against these rebels as they get close to graduating from basic training. Meanwhile, Targen grows physically abusive, but with a candidate’s word against an instructors’, the base’s general won’t move Targen to another base.