#1 SnowFox23

SnowFox23

• Members
  • Pip
  • 158 posts
  • Literary Status:self-published, in-between agents
  • LocationAustralia/New Zealand

Posted 21 February 2018 - 04:15 AM

Hi guys, I am struggling to know what to put in my Bio section of my newest query. To be honest, I have always left it empty.

My crappy writing creds:

I studied a BA in Communications majoring in Journalism for 2 years, but this was ages ago, and I never finished the degree.  

I wrote for several crappy, indie music zines, reviewing albums and stuff. The biggest thing I did was get the opportunity to interview an award winning rapper.

I belong to this awesome place AgentQuery, and I have for a few years. Just opened an account with Absolute Write. I was told you can mention that you belong to writing groups, because it looks good.

Can I use any or all of these things? How do I put this into a small, concise bio?!

Cheers my peeps, you guys keep me going.

#2 DisgruntledWriter

DisgruntledWriter

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationCanada

Posted 21 February 2018 - 01:31 PM

I'm in the same boat as you with some very unimpressive prior credentials.  I would say something like "I studied BA in Communications majoring in Journalism" and casually omit the part about never finishing it.  I doubt an agent would follow up if you finished your degree or not.  As for the magazines, you could mention those as well, but obviously beef it up a bit and make them sound not-so-crappy.

I'm under the impression that an agent probably doesn't care much about your bio.  Honestly, I don't think they're going to read a so-so query and go "But they have a degree! Well that changes everything, I MUST have the full manuscript now!" They're so busy they probably just scan it over, since after reading the fiftieth letter that day, all the bio's are going to start to sound the same.

#3 Nonicks

Nonicks

Veteran Member

• Members