#1 mojicanpuertorican

mojicanpuertorican

• Members
  • Pip
  • 146 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Southeast

Posted 09 May 2018 - 06:33 PM

So, I've noticed a few times from different people that, some authors have been noticed by agents in Wattpad? I've been curious of posting my story there, but I read that if you do that it's out in the world and the agent wont accept it. Does anyone know which is true? I wouldn't want to post it if my story loses all the possibility of ever getting published.

#2 DisgruntledWriter

DisgruntledWriter

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationCanada

Posted 09 May 2018 - 06:57 PM

I'm by no means an expert, but I've seen several times on the query boards when people mention their story is on Wattpad, everyone seems to comment, "That means you're already published."

#3 spineofiron

spineofiron

Probably Drinking Coffee

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest

Posted 10 May 2018 - 07:10 AM

Those authors are the exception, not the rule. They're the ones culling millions of reads and reviews. If you think your book could be that successful, then by all means -- but it would count as it being "out in the world" and published for sure.

"I am a fire escape. My spine is made of iron, my heart pumps out old red paint."

-- Foster the People

-- -- --

NIGHT OF SORROWS

Query

Hook

250 Words

#4 KitCampbell

KitCampbell

Occasionally considering octopus husbandry

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Literary Status:published, self-published, unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Three novels published through Turtleduck Press, short stories all over the place. Readying to dip my toes back into the agent search pool.

Posted 10 May 2018 - 11:17 AM