2 replies to this topic

#1 hermitage

hermitage

• Members
  • Pip
  • 153 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:I'm a PhD economist with six articles published in peer-reviewed journals on the subjects of economics and voting theory.

Posted 22 July 2018 - 11:31 PM

My novel skips around in time quite a lot. Is there any general consensus on how to write a short synopsis for a story that's told out of order?

Should I just go ahead and try to put the synopsis in chronological order anyway? That might make it easier, but it would have a very different structure from the book.

I've read that headers and chapter numbers are to be avoided in synopses -- I get why, but otherwise it's tempting to have these in order to demarcate separate timelines.

I have an older synopsis here which does have headers and chapter numbers, but I think I should probably re-write this from the ground up. E.g. I think it's too long, doesn't say enough about character motivation, etc.  

Anyway, my main question is just how others have approached this problem. I'd love to see an example of a "good" synopsis of a non-chronological novel.

Thank you!

James

#2 JoQwerty

JoQwerty

• Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 23 July 2018 - 02:25 AM

Should I just go ahead and try to put the synopsis in chronological order anyway?

As always, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Some agents insist the synopsis follow the novel, while others insist it be chronological. Check your agent's requirements.