• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 08 May 2019 - 07:08 PM

(Posting on behalf of DT919)

Hi everyone, 

Any comments on the following would be appreciated - it's my first attempt at writing a novel and my first attempt at writing a query.

(And thanks to LNLOFT for all the help to people like myself who want to join Agent Query Connect but can't right now).

Thanks!

---

Dear [Cool Agent Person]

My book tells the story of the Viking god Baldr, the god who dies.

What would you do if you were warned that your fiancée was not only going to eat you on your wedding night but would go on to murder your whole village? Baldr decides that the best thing to do is to remake reality into one in which he isn’t so engaged. He teams up with the young goddess Hel for a quest that involves romance, murder and a fountain of exploding fermented fish. 

BALDR THE DEAD is 93,000 words long and explores the story of a minor figure from Viking mythology. It is a coming-of-age fantasy narrative like Patrick Rothfuss’s ‘The Name of the Wind’ told with a distinctive narrative voice comparable to that of Susanna Clarke.

I am currently a researcher of Old Norse religion at [place]. I have published an [academic textbook about Old Norse religion and written a bunch of pieces online about pop culture]. 

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Yours sincerely,

DT919

If you appreciated my feedback, I'd appreciate yours: Ouroboros

Please note I'm also posting on behalf of people who can't sign up, so if I provide a link in the main body of the post, make sure to reciprocate on that instead.

#2 CarterT

CarterT

• Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationCanada

Posted 08 May 2019 - 10:59 PM