6 replies to this topic

#1 rewrighter

rewrighter

• Members
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • Literary Status:in-between agents
  • LocationUS Northwest
  • Publishing Experience:I was a journalist for newspapers in four states, most recently for the Anchorage Daily News.

Posted 25 July 2019 - 11:26 PM

Any help is appreciated and reciprocated - just share your Q title in your reply. One request - any suggestions where to put the reference to the MC's appearance? It's clunky at the end of paragraph one, but it's too important to cut.

Thanks! 

Revision in post #4

Banished to the land of Counterpane, Drizzelda is magically bound as personal assistant to a hybrid dragon queen with a nasty temper, and even nastier spells. Her day job is mostly distracting the queen from turning allies into cockroaches and negotiating lower insurance rates despite all the dragon-breath fires. On the plus side, she’s managed to convince most of her coworkers she’s NOT actually an ogre, so that’s good. (Humans always think tusks + large frame + red skin = ogre.) 

Every night, she learns about her birth country of Morath. Her Aunt Mog - also banished and the queen’s fearsome military commander - teaches Drizzle Morathian culture such as how to properly barbeque a fire salamander and the most popular dance fighting moves. But neither of them can lift the binding keeping them in Counterpane until the queen dies. And, under the binding, they’re barely at human strength - which isn’t near strong enough to do her in themselves. 

Then Mog is killed obeying the queen’s command. Drizzle wants to take her ashes home to Morath to be buried properly. But the whole banishment thing means she has to ask permission of her former BFF, whose awesome dance-fighting skills have made her ruler of Morath. When the frenemy allows her to return for a brief visit, Drizzle heads to Morath...where she discovers her banishment is based on a lie.