5 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Blakeslee

Michael Blakeslee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:I have recently finished my first nonfiction book entitled 'It's all about perception'. It's a work that encourages the reader to take an alternative look at the Universe - one of a plethora that present themselves to us on a constant basis. I am working on finding an agent in an attempt to get published.

Posted 21 February 2012 - 09:44 PM

I know I’m a newbie here, so please correct me if I am overstepping my boundaries; and by all means, please feel free to jump in. This is more so for my encouragement than for anyone else’s. I am truly looking for much more advice than I am giving; as I don’t know diddly, and I know squat! Having said that; here we go:
Someone and I wish I knew who, encouraged me to look into the book ‘The literary Agent’s Guide to Getting Published and Making Money from Your Writing’ by Bill Adler Jr.; whoever it was, thank you and God bless you! This is an outstanding book; especially, if you’re like me, and in need of assistance in writing a proposal. Mr. Adler lays it all out in layman straight talk terms: showing you precisely what works – what draws attention; in negative and positive ways – what will get you quickly thrown in the waste basket – and what can encourage a publisher to take a chance on your work – and much, much more.
I honestly had mixed emotions while reading it; sometimes I said “(insert any naughty word you prefer!!!) This is so overwhelming; I’ll never be able to do all this! I might as well pay someone to self-publish!” Yet, by the time I reached the middle; I started seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. I believe if you take Mr. Adler’s advice on starting an outline, just as you would your own book, it will help you break it into smaller tasks. This is exactly what I plan to do!