jmarshburn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 93 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, emerging, unagented
  • LocationUS Southeast

Posted 18 March 2012 - 12:57 PM

Hello AQC!

I am a newbie, but I'm very excited to have just finished my second draft of a novel I've been working on for (too long) six years. I am doing quick spell and grammar check, and carefully picking a select few friends to take a look at it while I put together a query. My problem is I'm not sure where the story falls into a genre. I know queries should include the genre, but what do you do when genre is not so clear cut. Let me practice writing a synopsis, and see if anyone can find a genre for what I've written:

For eight months, Liz repeatedly explained to family, friends, and strangers that she was not pregnant, only to arrive in the doctor's office and discover she was wrong. Now, a week after giving birth and choosing to surrender her child for adoption, she is recounting the story to her therapist, Dr. Benning. Dr. Benning, concerned at the layers of denial and avoidance inherent in her story, helps Liz to realize that the loss of a child, even by choice, is cause for grief.

Thanks in advance for any help. Having read the genre descriptions, my first inclination is Women's Fiction, but let me know if you see anything different.

-Jenn

Jenn
http://writingsonwri....wordpress.com/

Becoming a writer is not a 'career decision' like becoming a doctor or a policeman. You don’t choose it so much as get chosen, and once you accept the fact that you’re not fit for anything else, you have to be prepared to walk a long, hard road for the rest of your days.' - Paul Auster

#2 KrystenH

KrystenH

Lady of the Dragons

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 18 March 2012 - 01:03 PM

Sounds like literary fiction to me, maybe women's fiction.

I would market it as women's fiction but that's just me. Wait and see what the other AQC-era say.
Shadow's Dawn (EF) -- Querying/ Editing