Jump to content

Disclaimer

Photo

Query that got 17 full requests + 4 offers of representation (and now a publisher)EXTRACTION will be published by St. Martin's in Spring 2014.


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Stephanie Diaz

Stephanie Diaz

    The Girl Who Waited

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 895 posts
  • Literary Status:agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Pub intern. EXTRACTION, the first book in my YA sci-fi trilogy, will be out July 22, 2014 from St. Martin's Griffin.

Posted 11 May 2012 - 12:49 PM

I guess I could post this here now... :)

This query garnered 26 partials/fulls (mostly fulls) and led to 4 offers of representation.

--


Sixteen-year-old Clementine wants to grow old and live in a place where the moon is a beautiful, glowing orb in the sky instead of an acid-bleeding menace to the planet. So when she wins a shot at life far from the planet surface, she takes it willingly, even if it means leaving her best friend, Logan, behind.

In the planet core, which after centuries has been transformed into a steel-made place of inhabitance more like a space ship, Clementine lives, for the first time, without fear. Underground, there is no starvation, there are no crowbar-wielding security officials, and the moon is far enough away that no one speaks of it.

Then Clementine learns the planet leaders are going to murder Logan.

Now trapped by the steel walls of the underground and the lies that keep her safe, Clementine must find a way to escape and rescue Logan. But the planet leaders don't want her running. They want her subdued.

Complete at 75,000 words, EXTRACTION is a science fiction novel for young adults that will appeal to readers of Veronica Roth's DIVERGENT and Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE.

Thank you very much for your time and attention.


EXTRACTION_FINAL_COVER.jpg

Extraction

St. Martin's Griffin

July 22, 2014


#2 efowler

efowler

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationUS Northeast

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:08 PM

Congratulations! I have a question, I've seen many successful queries that say the book will appeal to audiences that like (comparisons of the book), and I'm wondering if I should do this?

#3 Stephanie Diaz

Stephanie Diaz

    The Girl Who Waited

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 895 posts
  • Literary Status:agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Pub intern. EXTRACTION, the first book in my YA sci-fi trilogy, will be out July 22, 2014 from St. Martin's Griffin.

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:49 PM

Congratulations! I have a question, I've seen many successful queries that say the book will appeal to audiences that like (comparisons of the book), and I'm wondering if I should do this?


I think that could be a good thing to do, if there are books that fit with yours. To be honest, some people told me not to compare my book to ones that are bestsellers, but I ignored them...it didn't end up mattering. :P

EXTRACTION_FINAL_COVER.jpg

Extraction

St. Martin's Griffin

July 22, 2014


#4 scubasteve4

scubasteve4

    Gone Writing

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, published, unagented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:My debut novel BATTERY BROTHERS is due out with Elephant's Bookshelf Press on March 30, 2014.

Posted 11 May 2012 - 04:41 PM

Congrats. I can easily see why you got such a high request rate. Obviously, your material is strong since you're getting requests for representation. It's all the more amazing that you're achieving this level of success at such a young age. Go out and celebrate your accomplishment; it's a big one!

http://www.stevencarman.com
 

BatteryBros3.jpg

 

Published: March 30, 2014
Elephant's Bookshelf Press


#5 Mia K Rose

Mia K Rose

    Lost in the Unreal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting
  • LocationAustralia/New Zealand

Posted 11 May 2012 - 05:10 PM

Yay for you Steph.
I can add more cheering for you here now! =D
Follow me on twitter.
Take a look at my blog.

#6 TBruce

TBruce

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Literary Status:published
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:It's complicated...

Posted 11 May 2012 - 05:15 PM

Congratulations!!! That's great!

hereafter_cover_jpg_72_twitter.jpg

 

Terri Bruce--creating my own special blend of literary science fiction and fantasy
Website/Blog | Twitter | Facebook Fan Page | Facebook Profile Page | Goodreads

 
 


#7 writingkills

writingkills

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationAustralia/New Zealand

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:06 PM

Congrats! Nice query :)

You don't know me, but I've seen snippets of your work around the site -- and been impressed. Your success is very well deserved.

#8 JayMG

JayMG

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging
  • LocationUnited Kingdom
  • Publishing Experience:My novel is due to be published by a small press in June/July 2014. I also have short works published in various UK and US literary magazines.

Posted 12 May 2012 - 03:00 AM

Brilliant news, Stephanie! Do you have any preferences so far? How lovely to have to choose between agents!!

#9 Tom Preece

Tom Preece

    Word Warrior

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 938 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationUS Northwest
  • Publishing Experience:Virtually none. Long long ago in college I was published in a couple of student magazines

Posted 12 May 2012 - 03:23 AM

Stephanie I've been a believer since we first began to chat. This is fabulous. I can't help but think that if agents are competing publishers will too.

#10 Stephanie Diaz

Stephanie Diaz

    The Girl Who Waited

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 895 posts
  • Literary Status:agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Pub intern. EXTRACTION, the first book in my YA sci-fi trilogy, will be out July 22, 2014 from St. Martin's Griffin.

Posted 12 May 2012 - 09:51 AM

Thanks, guys. :blush:
Jay, I am leaning toward one agent right now. It's still a tough decision! I'll announce as soon as I sign with one.

EXTRACTION_FINAL_COVER.jpg

Extraction

St. Martin's Griffin

July 22, 2014


#11 AMK

AMK

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging
  • LocationUS Southeast
  • Publishing Experience:nada...working on it

Posted 12 May 2012 - 10:25 AM

Yay, Stephanie! I can't wait to hear who you choose. Good luck!

#12 Paul Dillon

Paul Dillon

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,221 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, published, unagented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:Debut novel published by Mark Williams international Digital Publishing July 2012

Posted 12 May 2012 - 12:26 PM

Well done. Having multiple agents to choose from is an outstanding achievement, I'm looking forward to being able to say:
"I remember Stephanie Diaz before she became famous."

#13 Derrick

Derrick

    Giver of Rocky-themed Pep Talks

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 536 posts
  • Literary Status:unagented
  • LocationUS Midwest

Posted 12 May 2012 - 04:07 PM

Multi-agents. Dang. Nice work!

#14 MarcyKate

MarcyKate

    There can be only One.

  • Group Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Literary Status:published, agented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:My debut novel MONSTROUS will be out from HarperCollins Children’s Books in Winter 2015!

Posted 13 May 2012 - 03:06 PM

WOOT! So excited for you Stephanie - I know how hard you've worked on this book, so it's awesome to see that pay off!

hehe, I think I was one of those who suggested not using the big comp titles like that, too - and I'm absolutely DELIGHTED to have been proved wrong in that respect :biggrin:

Can't wait to hear who you pick!!! So exciting!!

#15 Jemi

Jemi

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,510 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, unagented
  • LocationCanada

Posted 13 May 2012 - 06:17 PM

That's awesome news, Stephanie! So excited to hear it - congrats!!!

#16 K McClelland

K McClelland

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,349 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationUS South
  • Publishing Experience:I've had some poetry published in various poetry books, newspapers, and some online things-I don't remember the specifics though. No novel published, yet. Oh yeah-I have had some articles published in various newspapers as well, but-like the poetry- it's been a while...

Posted 13 May 2012 - 07:21 PM

Wow, Stephanie, that's awesome. Congrats! :biggrin:
"I don't write. My characters do."

"A good Storyteller is born from imagination; A good Writer is born from passion; A good Author is born from both."

Check out my blog

My Twitter

#17 Michelle4Laughs

Michelle4Laughs

    Walking on Sunshine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,880 posts
  • Literary Status:published, agented
  • LocationUS Northeast
  • Publishing Experience:My epic fantasy, Kindar's Cure was released from Divertir Publishing. A short story, Frost and Fog, is in Summer's Double Edge anthology.

    I'm repped by Sarah Negovetich.

Posted 14 May 2012 - 03:01 PM

Great news! Haven't heard of an agent making an offer in a while. Glad it was you.

#18 Peter W

Peter W

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Literary Status:just starting, unagented
  • LocationEurope
  • Publishing Experience:none

Posted 14 May 2012 - 03:25 PM

That's just awesome, congratulations! Three offers sound like a dream, but having read your first chapter I'm really not that surprised.

Best luck to you!
"Now I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."

#19 Lori Sjoberg

Lori Sjoberg

    Resident pain in the rear

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,362 posts
  • Literary Status:published, unagented
  • LocationUS Southeast
  • Publishing Experience:GRAVE INTENTIONS, a Grim Reaper paranormal romance, is now available from Kensington Publishing.

Posted 14 May 2012 - 03:47 PM

Great news! Congrats!

#20 Jennie

Jennie

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 611 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:DAMSELFLY is coming out on November 11th, 2013.

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:09 AM

Congrats! Can't wait to find out who the lucky agent is. :)

Follow me on Twitter, Like me on Facebook. Shelve me on Goodreads.  Check out my other work as an artist. 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users