#1 Cammy May

Cammy May

Model citizen

• Members
  • Pip
  • 142 posts
  • Literary Status:emerging, agented
  • LocationUS Southwest
  • Publishing Experience:I am just starting out. I've done some script reading, and quite a bit of work on serials, but at this point have a book from a small publisher, and another will follow as soon as I quit messing around and finish it.
    I would prefer to be sole proprietor of a series of novels.

They can reject me, blacklist me, ignore me... but they can't take Tara away from me.

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:12 AM

I've had some deep-seated problems with my memoir from the get-go, and resisted writing it in the first place.
To make is simple, I have people I want to protect. So there is a level of "not totally Truth and Fact" to start with.

But it's been suggested that I "fictionalize" it. Easy enough. Does nobody stick in a great story they heard from their granny or neighbor?

But I'm wondering just how far, or legitimate that grey area is.. What is "creative non-fiction". Can a memoir be "creative"?

I started out wanting to work straight up from my innocent church childhood to my current wicked ways, but it was suggested that maybe I should put some racier material from the present or near past in to keep interest up. It's also the way my brain seems to want to work it, things sort of pop up to get written about at random points from the past.

As soon as I started moving out of chronology, it immediately started getting into my head to "embellish" the mess out of it. Not like making up events, but sort of arranging furniture a bit.

If I was going to do a novel out of it, I'd have to have some characters that stuck around, which my real life has almost none of. So, why not stage dress the memoir a little.

I have zero idea what sort of expectations or ethics apply to this.

Maybe you do.

Oh, you can see the memoir at http://cammymay.com
So far everything has turned about as I expected.

#2 mwsinclair

mwsinclair